Employer Recognition Award



The 2021 we recognized two outstanding employers::

S&C Electric

S&C Electric

Headquartered in Chicago for more than 110 years, S&C Electric is Chicago’s second-largest manufacturer and employs more than 3,500 team members at its U.S. facilities in Chicago; Phoenix; West Palm Beach, Florida; Rockville, Maryland; Dallas; and Franklin, Wisconsin.

S&C Electric comprises a variety of roles, from manufacturing to engineering, and the average team member tenure is 11 years -three times the national average. Focused on the continued safety and wellbeing of team members, S&C Electric introduced several initiatives last year, including a remote work program that provides greater flexibility, and an onsite COVID-19 vaccine program for team members.  So, it is not surprising to learn that S&C Electric has been recognized as a top employer in the United States for the second year in a row by Top Workplaces USA. The 2022 Top Workplaces USA list recognizes companies nationwide that engage, motivate, and reward their team members.

In the nomination submitted by Danielle Woods, MSN, RN, COHN-S, CM, she reports that S&C Electric supports certification by paying for her costs to take an exam review course, exam costs and annual renewal/recert costs.  After she passed the exam, an email congratulating her was sent by senior leadership and a party was given by her manager.  In addition to credentialing support, she was given tuition reimbursement to complete a MSN degree.  Danielle states “I have never worked for a company that values career advancement as much as S&C Electric does.  They are supportive and foster an environment of growth.”

Congratulations S&C Electric and thank you for your support of OHNs!


Boston Scientific

Boston Scientific


Boston Scientific Corporation was formed June 29, 1979, in Watertown, Massachusetts, as a holding company for a medical products company called Medi-Tech.  Over the years Boston Scientific has grown, evolved and transformed and currently has 41,000 employees worldwide with locations in 40 countries with the headquarters in Marlborough, Massachusetts.  Boston Scientific is a manufacturer of medical devises used in interventional medical specialties including interventional radiology, cardiology, neurovascular, endoscopy, urology and gynecology.

Boston Scientific is dedicated to collaborating with healthcare professionals to develop a broad portfolio of meaningful innovations that improve patient outcomes, reduce costs, increase efficiencies and—most importantly—help more people in more places around the world live longer, healthier lives.  They have won many awards including FORTUNE World’s Most Admired Companies (2016 – 2021), Forbes World's Best Employers (2018, 2020), Working Mother 100 Best Companies (2017, 2019, 2020) and in 2019 was voted Best Places to Work – by an Employee's Choice Survey. Boston Scientific has 43% women among its employees, 38% of management positions and 23% of corporate top management positions are held by women.


Examples of the recognition given to OHNs were included in the nomination. The VP of HR wrote to the OHN,” I want to stop and say Thank You for all you doing.  I know this is a challenging role and a lot of work, and you are always helpful and thoughtful and kind. I hope you are not over-working and you are taking time for yourself and your wellbeing as this can be stressful.”  From the VP of Clinical Affairs, “Thank you for your heroic efforts on behalf of employees.”

Congratulations Boston Scientific and thank you for your recognition and support of OHNs!



2022 Virtual S&C Electric                                 Boston Scientific
2021 Virtual WorkCare, Inc.
2020 Conference cxld due to COVID-19 No award given
2019 Jacksonville No award given
2018 Reno Perdue Farms, Inc.
2017 New Orleans Northwell Health
2016 Jacksonville Tesoro Companies, Inc.
2015 Boston No award given
2014 Dallas The TSA/OLE/FAM
2013 Las Vegas The Hershey Company
2012 Nashville Johnson & Johnson
2011 Atlanta Comprehensive Healthcare
2010 Anaheim No award given
2009 Orlando IBM
2008 Salt Lake City No award given
2007 Orlando Tyson Foods
2006 Albuquerque William Wrigley, Jr. Company
2005 Minneapolis Baxter Health Care Corporation
2004 Kansas City Kelly Health Care Resources
2003 Atlanta Dow Chemical Company
2002 Chicago Conoco, Inc.
2001 San Francisco Huntsman
2000 Philadelphia Smith Kline Beecham
1999 New Orleans United Parcel
1998 Boston Moorehead Hospital
1997 Orlando United States Postal Service
1996 San Antonio Hummer
1995 Las Vegas Mobil Oil